top of page

Digital Skills: Embracing Digital Technology (MOOC Experience)


Podcast Transcript:


Host: Good day to all our listeners! To start off, how is everyone doing? I hope everyone is still staying safe and still practicing social distancing. For today, we have a special guest that will be talking about her MOOC experience on a subject called 'Digital Skills: Embracing Digital Technology'. So, let's welcome Ms. Jemima Petalver!


Jemima Petalver: Hi! Thank you so much for having me today!


Host: It's our pleasure! So, do you want to start talking about your experience now?


Jemima Petalver: Of course! But, before I dig deeper about my learnings from the course, I want to talk about what MOOC stands for, for all of our listeners. So, MOOC is actually short for 'massive open online course' and it gives you a chance to study from universities all over the world that can help you gain knowledge in your particular expertise and there are actually no entry requirements, which is amazing if you guys are looking for something to learn online.


Host: Thanks for sharing that! This is actually my first time hearing that word. So now, going back to your experience.


Jemima Petalver: Yes! So like what you have introduced, my MOOC is about 'Digital Skills: Embracing Digital Technology', and it's about the basics of digital technology wherein they tackle stuff like communicating online, creating digital identity down to growing your network online. So some of the listeners or you might ask though, "Why did I choose this course?". Well, I decided to take this MOOC because I feel like it will give me more understanding for my future career, since technology and usage of social media is getting bigger and bigger almost every single day.


Host: Yes, I totally agree with that. So, while taking the course, what was your thoughts? Was it good or was it bad?


Jemima Petalver: Actually, that's a good question. Well, did I enjoy the course? I'd say it was less than my expectations. There were parts of the lessons that I did enjoy though. But most of the time, I feel like it was just too general and you can easily find the information on Google. When I first started it, I was excited and expectant. But, then when it progressed, I kind of lost interest and I kept on skipping the video and just skimmed through the text quickly.


Host: But what were the good parts of the mood that you enjoyed?


Jemima Petalver: Well, parts of the MOOC that I particularly enjoyed were the polls included every week, quizzes, and discussions among the people, which helped me to still hold on and finish the whole course. But there is always room for improvement anyway.


Host: Yes, yes, of course!


Jemima Petalver: And I think that this MOOC can be improved if they decided to add more engaging videos instead of too much articles every lesson because it will help capture the students' attention more.


Host: That's a great point actually. But going back to what you have mentioned briefly, can you elaborate more, why didn't you enjoy the course?


Jemima Petalver: Sadly, I did not enjoy the course because the content and the delivery was not quite matching with what I wanted to learn and how I wanted to learn it. If you actually watch my other MOOC reflection or check that out on another post, I talked about how engaging that was because of the methods they used to deliver the lessons. Like, they had tons of students in the video and not too lengthy texts and also how it was relevant to the title of the course, which is about 'Improving Your Study Techniques'.


Host: So, lastly, I wanted to ask you, what were the learnings that you got from this MOOC?


Jemima Petalver: Well, the learnings I can apply though from this course, would be using the applications that they shared, which can be helpful when I do presentations or what kind of things I should or should not post online. Moreover, I will use the things I learned through this course mostly as a reminder when I go online since I'm very active when it comes to social media, and when I do content because it's the basics, and you can't go wrong with the basics, right? Lastly, when I take more MOOCs in the future, I'll keep in mind to really look at the description and what it offers, and I will look for something more advanced that matches my needs.


Host: Great! Thank you Ms. Jemima for giving us your time to talk about your MOOC experience.


Jemima Petalver: Thank you so much!


Host: I hope that all the listeners have learned something and keep in mind to really look at the description if you plan to take your own MOOC in the future. Thank you guys once again for your time and have a great day. Stay safe!



*Both voices were the same person.*





bottom of page