top of page

Leading Your Growth

Our habits can affect how we see the world and how we act in certain situations. Stephen R. Covey wrote The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People to help us improve ourselves and identify the habits that can help us on our path to success (Covey, 1989). In class, we discussed further the book and had questions, scenarios, and videos to think about.


Personal Responses

In reading the summary and discussing the 7 Habits in class, there were some points that I can identify with. I also felt embarrassed when there were examples that were negative because I know myself that I am usually like that, such as procrastinating. When we finished the lesson, I felt the need to re-read the presentation and assess myself on where I currently stand in terms of how I think and act in certain situations and towards others, but most importantly towards myself.


Look back and assess

For me, one habit I need to improve would be Habit 3- Put First Things First. This habit talks about prioritizing tasks that are much more important and not getting distracted by unimportant things. During study week, I did unnecessary things like watching series, instead of fulfilling my priorities, like coursework that needs to be turned in. On the other hand, one of my positive traits from the 7 Habits is that I am quite proactive. This point is about being able to take charge and assume responsibility for your life. In my Enterprise & Entrepreneurship course, I needed to send an assignment update to the instructor, so I sent an email, but it didn’t go through. I had a choice to just let it go or proactively ask what other way I can send my presentation. This action made a difference because I took control of the situation and realized my responsibility as a student. According to Marcus Buckingham, knowing your strengths and weaknesses is good, but managing and using them can help condition yourself to be the best you can be, especially when it comes to your performance (Marcus Buckingham, 2018).


Next Move

After analyzing what habits I need to improve and what I am good at, I realized that the 7 Habits book is a tool that can help me grow, especially when I start working. Most importantly, this book and the class discussion helped me reflect and look back at the things I did wrong that I never thought about. For example, ignoring the feedback I get from instructors and just putting aside the assignments I need to do, or resting instead of studying. As a next step, I need to read summaries and testimonials of the book that can help me motivate myself and change my thinking for the betterment of all. I also intend to practice these habits with my circle of friends to prepare myself for the workplace. Lastly, this is beneficial to me as my future career will require me to prioritize tasks and manage my own time while also being able to take responsibility for my decisions and not worry about things I can’t handle on my own.


References

Covey, S. R., 1989. 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. 1st ed. U.S: Free Press.


Marcus Buckingham, 2018. Invest in Your Strengths. [Online] Available at: https://www.marcusbuckingham.com/invest-in-your-strengths-2/ [Accessed 19 April 2021].




bottom of page